Model comparison
GPT-6 Astra vs Grok 4.7: price, context and specs
Updated · Facts checked October 2, 2026 · By the dotaimodel team · How we research
Short answer
Grok 4.7 is far cheaper — $2/$6 per million input/output tokens vs $10/$50 for GPT-6 Astra[4] source: OpenAI API docs[13] source: SpaceXAI (xAI). Astra has the larger context window (1.05M vs 500K tokens)[4] source: OpenAI API docs[15] source: AWS Machine Learning Blog and an extra “max” reasoning level[4] source: OpenAI API docs. Prices as of October 2, 2026.
Spec-by-spec comparison
Released
- GPT-6 Astra (OpenAI)
- September 3, 2026[2] source: OpenAI Deployment Safety Hub
- Grok 4.7 (xAI)OUR PICK
- September 21, 2026[13] source: SpaceXAI (xAI)
Input price / 1M
- GPT-6 Astra (OpenAI)
- $10[4] source: OpenAI API docs
- Grok 4.7 (xAI)OUR PICK
- $2[13] source: SpaceXAI (xAI)
Output price / 1M
- GPT-6 Astra (OpenAI)
- $50[4] source: OpenAI API docs
- Grok 4.7 (xAI)OUR PICK
- $6[13] source: SpaceXAI (xAI)
Cached input / 1M
- GPT-6 Astra (OpenAI)
- $1[4] source: OpenAI API docs
- Grok 4.7 (xAI)OUR PICK
- Not stated on xAI’s announcement
Long-context pricing
- GPT-6 Astra (OpenAI)
- >272K input: 2× input, 1.5× output[4] source: OpenAI API docs
- Grok 4.7 (xAI)OUR PICK
- Not stated on xAI’s announcement
Faster tier
- GPT-6 Astra (OpenAI)
- Fast mode at 2× price[4] source: OpenAI API docs
- Grok 4.7 (xAI)OUR PICK
- Fast variant: 2× output speed at 2× price[13] source: SpaceXAI (xAI)
Context window
- GPT-6 Astra (OpenAI)
- 1,050,000 tokens[4] source: OpenAI API docs
- Grok 4.7 (xAI)OUR PICK
- 500,000 tokens[15] source: AWS Machine Learning Blog
Reasoning levels
- GPT-6 Astra (OpenAI)
- low, medium, high, xhigh, max[4] source: OpenAI API docs
- Grok 4.7 (xAI)OUR PICK
- low, medium, high, xhigh[15] source: AWS Machine Learning Blog
Inputs
- GPT-6 Astra (OpenAI)
- Text, image[4] source: OpenAI API docs
- Grok 4.7 (xAI)OUR PICK
- Text, image[15] source: AWS Machine Learning Blog
Where available
- GPT-6 Astra (OpenAI)
- OpenAI API; powers ChatGPT dots[1] source: OpenAI (ChatGPT Learn)[4] source: OpenAI API docs
- Grok 4.7 (xAI)OUR PICK
- xAI API, Cursor, Grok Build, Amazon Bedrock and other platforms[13] source: SpaceXAI (xAI)[15] source: AWS Machine Learning Blog
| GPT-6 Astra (OpenAI) | Grok 4.7 (xAI)Our pick | |
|---|---|---|
| Released | September 3, 2026[2] source: OpenAI Deployment Safety Hub | September 21, 2026[13] source: SpaceXAI (xAI) |
| Input price / 1M | $10[4] source: OpenAI API docs | $2[13] source: SpaceXAI (xAI) |
| Output price / 1M | $50[4] source: OpenAI API docs | $6[13] source: SpaceXAI (xAI) |
| Cached input / 1M | $1[4] source: OpenAI API docs | Not stated on xAI’s announcement |
| Long-context pricing | >272K input: 2× input, 1.5× output[4] source: OpenAI API docs | Not stated on xAI’s announcement |
| Faster tier | Fast mode at 2× price[4] source: OpenAI API docs | Fast variant: 2× output speed at 2× price[13] source: SpaceXAI (xAI) |
| Context window | 1,050,000 tokens[4] source: OpenAI API docs | 500,000 tokens[15] source: AWS Machine Learning Blog |
| Reasoning levels | low, medium, high, xhigh, max[4] source: OpenAI API docs | low, medium, high, xhigh[15] source: AWS Machine Learning Blog |
| Inputs | Text, image[4] source: OpenAI API docs | Text, image[15] source: AWS Machine Learning Blog |
| Where available | OpenAI API; powers ChatGPT dots[1] source: OpenAI (ChatGPT Learn)[4] source: OpenAI API docs | xAI API, Cursor, Grok Build, Amazon Bedrock and other platforms[13] source: SpaceXAI (xAI)[15] source: AWS Machine Learning Blog |
What does the price gap mean in practice?
Simple arithmetic from list prices: a job using 1 million input tokens and 200,000 output tokens would cost $10 + $10 = $20 on GPT-6 Astra and $2 + $1.20 = $3.20 on Grok 4.7 at standard rates, before caching or batch discounts[4] source: OpenAI API docs[13] source: SpaceXAI (xAI). Real costs depend on how many tokens each model uses for the same task, which varies.
When to choose which
- Grok 4.7 for cost-sensitive agents, coding and knowledge work at volume; xAI positions it for “coding and knowledge work” and long-running tasks[13] source: SpaceXAI (xAI).
- GPT-6 Astra when you need the 1M+ context window, the “max” reasoning setting, or OpenAI-specific tooling such as computer use and hosted shell in the Responses API[4] source: OpenAI API docs.
Frequently asked questions
Is Grok 4.7 cheaper than GPT-6 Astra?
Yes. At standard rates as of October 2, 2026, Grok 4.7 lists $2/$6 per million input/output tokens[13] source: SpaceXAI (xAI) versus $10/$50 for GPT-6 Astra[4] source: OpenAI API docs.
Which has the bigger context window?
GPT-6 Astra — 1,050,000 tokens[4] source: OpenAI API docs versus 500,000 for Grok 4.7[15] source: AWS Machine Learning Blog.
Which model is better at coding?
We haven’t run independent tests. xAI’s Grok 4.7 announcement publishes self-reported benchmark comparisons[13] source: SpaceXAI (xAI); treat vendor benchmarks as claims and test on your own codebase.
Sources for this page
- [1]Meet dots — OpenAI (ChatGPT Learn) (accessed 2026-10-02)
- [2]GPT-6 Astra System Card — OpenAI Deployment Safety Hub, 2026-09-03 (accessed 2026-10-02)
- [4]GPT-6 Astra model page — OpenAI API docs (accessed 2026-10-02)
- [12]Grok Bot — AI teammates that finish the work (product & pricing page) — SpaceXAI (xAI) (accessed 2026-10-02)
- [13]Introducing Grok 4.7 — SpaceXAI (xAI), 2026-09-21 (accessed 2026-10-02)
- [14]Grok — product overview — SpaceXAI (xAI) (accessed 2026-10-02)
- [15]Grok 4.7 is now available on Amazon Bedrock — AWS Machine Learning Blog, 2026-09-28 (accessed 2026-10-02)